Research and Documentation Online
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table below if you are not sure which documentation style to follow.
RefWorks
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table below if you are not sure which documentation style to follow.
RefWorks
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
Chicago Manual of Style
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.
MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.
AAA Style Guide
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in anthropology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the AAA Style Guide does not provide guidance.
ACM LaTeX Style Guide
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in computer science.
ACS Style Guide
Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.
AIP Style Manual
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in physics.
American Sociological Association Style Guide
Ref Desk HM73 .A54 2007
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in sociology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the ASA Style Guide does not provide guidance.
ASA Quick Style Guide
Online guide to documenting the most commonly cited resource in Sociology.
Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Ref KF245 .B58 2000
Standard guide to citing legal sources.
Geological Association of America Style Sheet
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the geosciences. Sources not covered by these guidelines should follow recommendations from the Chicago Manual of Style.
Lab Reports for Biology
Hamilton College biology department guide to documenting commonly cited resource in biology.
Short Guide to Writing about Art
Ref N7476 .B37 2008
by Sylvan Barnet. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2008.
Writing a Good History Paper
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in anthropology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the AAA Style Guide does not provide guidance.
ACM LaTeX Style Guide
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in computer science.
ACS Style Guide
Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.
AIP Style Manual
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in physics.
American Sociological Association Style Guide
Ref Desk HM73 .A54 2007
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in sociology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the ASA Style Guide does not provide guidance.
ASA Quick Style Guide
Online guide to documenting the most commonly cited resource in Sociology.
Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation
Ref KF245 .B58 2000
Standard guide to citing legal sources.
Geological Association of America Style Sheet
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the geosciences. Sources not covered by these guidelines should follow recommendations from the Chicago Manual of Style.
Lab Reports for Biology
Hamilton College biology department guide to documenting commonly cited resource in biology.
Short Guide to Writing about Art
Ref N7476 .B37 2008
by Sylvan Barnet. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2008.
Writing a Good History Paper
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.
Below is a list of generally preferred citation styles by department. You should always ask your professor if he or she has particular citation style preferences. Information on accessing style guides is available in the "Citing Sources" section of the library's subject guides. The Writing Center's handouts page also provides useful resources.
| Africana Studies | Chicago or MLA - Ask Your Professor |
| American Studies | Ask Your Professor |
| Anthropology | AAA Style Guide and Chicago |
| Art and Art History | Chicago |
| Asian Studies | Chicago or MLA - Ask Your Professor |
| Biochemistry/Molecular Biology | Lab Reports for Biology - Hamilton College |
| Biology | Lab Reports for Biology - Hamilton College |
| Chemical Physics | ACS Style Guide |
| Chemistry | ACS Style Guide |
| Cinema and New Media Studies | Ask Your Professor |
| Classics and Ancient Civilizations | Chicago or MLA - Ask Your Professor |
| Communication | APA |
| Comparative Literature | MLA |
| Computer Science | ACM LaTeX Style Guide |
| Dance and Movement Studies | MLA |
| Economics | Chicago |
| Education Studies | Chicago |
| English | MLA |
| Environmental Studies | Ask Your Professor |
| French | MLA |
| Geoarchaeology | Ask Your Professor |
| Geosciences | Geological Association of America Style Sheet |
| German | MLA |
| Government | Chicago |
| Hispanic Studies | MLA |
| History - Europe | Chicago |
| History - United States | Chicago |
| Latin American Studies | Ask Your Professor |
| Mathematics | Ask Your Professor |
| Medieval and Renaissance Studies | Chicago or MLA - Ask Your Professor |
| Music | Ask Your Professor |
| Neuroscience | APA |
| Philosophy | Chicago |
| Physics | AIP Style Manual |
| Psychology | APA |
| Religious Studies | Chicago |
| Russian Studies | Ask Your Professor |
| Sociology | ASA Style Guide and Chicago |
| Theatre | MLA |
| Women's Studies | Chicago |
