Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Film Literature Index
Citations for approximately 700,000 articles, film reviews and book reviews published from 1976 to 2001. The print edition (Ref PN1993 .F5) covers 1974 to 2004.
Journal of Religion and Film
Journal of Religion & Film is a peer reviewed journal which is committed to the study of connections between the medium of film and the phenomena of religion, however those are defined.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Dictionaries

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Essays and commentary on significant films, actors, directors, writers, and other production artists. Entries also include biographies, filmographies, comprehensive credits, production information, major awards, and bibliographies.

Film Research & Reviews

Dictionary of Film Studies Restricted Resource
This volume covers all aspects of film studies, including critical terms, concepts, movements, national and international cinemas, film history, genres, practices, and key technical terms and concepts. It is an ideal reference for students and teachers of film studies and anyone with an interest in film studies and criticism.
Women Filmmakers & Their Films
Print Location: Ref PN1998.2 .W66 1998
Entries on significant North American and European women filmmakers each include a brief biography, complete filmography (through 1998), a selected bibliography and a short essay on the subject's importance.

Handbooks

American Film Institute Catalog of Feature Films
The AFI Catalog database is an ongoing project that contains filmographic information for all American feature films produced from 1893-1972, as well as AFI AWARDS Outstanding Movies of the Year for the years 2000 through 2006. To date, the AFI Catalog database includes extensive entries on over 30,000 American feature-length and 17,000 short films.
Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors
Print Location: REF PN 1998.2 J29 2008


Film Art: An Introduction (Bordwell and Thompson)
Print Location: PN 1995 B617 2004


Film History: An Introduction
Print Location: PN 1993.5 A1 T45 1994


History of American Cinema
Print Location: PN 1993.5 U6 H55 1990


History of Narrative Film (Cook)
Print Location: PN 1993.35 A1 C65 1996


Movies and Methods (Nichols)
Print Location: PN 1994 M7


Oxford Guide to Film Studies
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .O93 1998


Routledge Companion to Film History Restricted Resource
Introduction Film history : a thematic approach. Natural magic: a cultural history of moving images / Erkki Huhtamo  Film as popular culture / Hilary Radner Film as art / Prakash Younger The stages of the production process / William Guynn The evolution of sound in cinema / Jay Beck Experimental cinema / Wheeler Winston Dixon Documentary film / Brian Winston Inscribing the historical film / Rosemarie Scullion A critical dictionary : history, theory, technique.
Understanding Movies (Giannetti)
Print Location: PN 1994 G47 1982


Magazines

Web Sites

CineFiles
Contains scanned images of reviews, press kits, festival and showcase program notes, newspapers and other documents from the Pacific Film Archive Library's extensive collection covering world cinema, past and present.

Finding Film Criticism
This guide is designed to assist researchers looking for reviews and other general information about films using Burke Library's collection.
IAF
IAF, the International Federation of Film Archives, brings together the world's leading institutions in the field of moving picture heritage. Its affiliates are the defenders of the Twentieth Century's own art form. They are dedicated to the rescue, collection, preservation and screening of moving images, which are valued both as works of art and culture and as historical documents. When it was founded in 1938, FIAF had 4 members. Today it comprises more than 150 institutions in over 77 countries - a reflection of the extent to which preservation of moving image heritage has become a world-wide concern.
Images and Multimedia Resources
Hamilton College Library guide to finding image and multimedia resources.

Internet Movie Database
Collection of movie information amassed from on-screen credits, press kits, official bios, autobiographies, interviews, and contributions by movie enthusiasts.
More information.
Moving Image Archive
This library contains thousands of digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
National Film Board (Canada)
NFB.ca is a website where you can watch films produced by the National Film Board of Canada.

Observations on Film Art
By David Bordwell and Kristin Thompson.

Tangemania
Aaron Gerow's Japanese Film Page
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. APA Chicago MLA

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481