Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
SciFinder Restricted Resource
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials
Note: Registration required. 

TOXNET Unrestricted Resource
(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
More Info: Fact Sheet

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ACS Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 30 American Chemical Society journals and magazines. Coverage: 1879-present.
Agricola Restricted Resource
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library with records for publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

BIOSIS Citation Index Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive coverage of the literature in the life sciences. Includes content from journals, reports, reviews, and meetings. Discover high impact articles with cited reference searching on the Web of Knowledge platform. Coverage: 1969-present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

SciFinder Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials

note: Registration required.
TOXNET
(TOXicology Data NETwork) is a cluster of databases covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and related areas.
More Info: Fact Sheet

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Chemistry Restricted Resource
This popular dictionary from Oxford University Press covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry.

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Restricted Resource
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

Encyclopedia of Environmental Ethics and Philosophy Restricted Resource
Examines the philosophical and ethical issues underlying contemporary and historical environmental issues, policies, and debates. Covers concepts, institutions, topics, events and people, including global warming, animal rights, environmental movements, alternative energy, green chemistry, industrial ecology, and eco-sabotage.
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry Restricted Resource
Comprehensive coverage of the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry and chemical and life science engineering.  Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, and environmental protection.  New and updated articles are added to Ullmann's Online on a quarterly basis.

Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics Restricted Resource Some full text available
The standard laboratory reference book for chemical and physical data. Coverage: Latest edition only.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Industry Information

Material Safety Data Sheets Some full text available
Produced by individual manufacturers, data sheets vary widely. Try to locate applications, dates, and countries of origin that fit your research.

Literature Reviews

Annual Review of Nuclear and Particle Science Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Physical Chemistry, in publication since 1952, covers significant developments in the field of nuclear and particle science, including nuclear chemistry.
Annual Review of Physical Chemistry Restricted Resource Some full text available
The Annual Review of Physical Chemistry, in publication since 1950, covers significant developments in the field of physical chemistry, including biophysical chemistry, chemical kinetics, colloids, electrochemistry, geochemistry and cosmochemistry, chemistry of atmosphere and climate, laser chemistry and ultrafast processes, the liquid state, magnetic resonance, physical organic chemistry, polymers and macromolecules, and more.

Other Resources

National Pesticide Information Center Some full text available
NPIC provides objective, science-based information about pesticides and pesticide-related topics to enable people to make informed decisions about pesticides and their use. NPIC is a cooperative agreement between Oregon State University and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
ScienceDaily
 A current awareness resource which reports new science research in "lay" language, and often provides links to the scholarly source articles.
Environmental Protection Agency - Pesticides - Regulation Some full text available
Search a particular pesticide to locate recent regulatory activity.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The chemistry department generally follows guidelines from the ACS Style Guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

ACS Style Guide Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.

ACS Journal Title Abbreviation List Unrestricted Resource
 

New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482