Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Reference Sources
Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (Vol 1) Ref HF5837 .E53 2000
Examines major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century. Entries look at the advertising campaign's or market initiative's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy, development hurdles, and outcomes. Includes bibliographical references.

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns (Vol 2) Restricted Resource
Examines major marketing and advertising campaigns of the 20th century. Entries look at the advertising campaign's or market initiative's historical context, target market, expected outcomes, competition, marketing strategy, development hurdles, and outcomes. Includes bibliographical references.

Salem History Restricted Resource
Series includes:
  • Great Events from History: The Nineteenth Century - Ref D358 .G74 2006
  • Great Events from History: The Twentieth Century (1901-1940) - Ref D421 .G629 2007
  • The Fifites in America - Ref E835 .F48 2005
  • The Sixties in America - Ref E841 .S55 1999
  • The Seventies in America - Ref E839 .S48 2006
  • The Eighties in America - Ref E876 .E347 2008

Timetables of History Ref D11 .G78 2005 Restricted Resource
A horizontal linkage of people and events from 4500 B.C. to 2005.

 + / - Advertising Research
ALEX Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College Library catalog. Search for print and electronic books, journals, videos, and other resources available at Hamilton. Search by subject heading: Advertising--United States

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present. Search by subject heading: Advertising

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Digital Collections
Advertising Collections - Duke University Libraries Unrestricted Resource
Digitized advertisements from several collections curated by the John W. Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History. Collections include:
  • Ad*Access, 1911-1955
  • AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
  • John E. Brennan Outdoor Advertising Survey Reports, 1947-1980
  • Emergence of Advertising in America, 1850-1920
  • Medicine and Madison Avenue, 1850-1920
  • Outdoor Advertising Association of America Slide Library, 1891-1994

Advertising Archives Unrestricted Resource
More than 100,000 images of advertisements appearing primarily in Great Britain and the United States from the mid 19th Century to the present day.

Internet Archive - Classic TV Commercials Unrestricted Resource
Classic TV commercials and public service announcements (PSAs) uploaded by archive.org users.

eBay - Advertising Unrestricted Resource
eBay's search page for advertising related items listed for sale on its site.

 + / - Magazines and Newspapers
American Periodicals Restricted Resource
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The communication department generally follows guidelines from the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Citation Fox - APA Unrestricted Resource
An APA style guide featuring a large number of example citations for books and journals along with many not-so-frequently encountered source types used in the social sciences. From the SUNY Albany Libraries.

Research and Documentation Online - APA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using APA style.

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association Ref Desk BF76.7 .P8 3 2010 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the social sciences.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480