Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Keywords and Subject Headings
Cooking - use to find cookbooks.
Example: Cooking, Ukrainian

Food habits
- combine with your country or region.
Example: Food habits - Ukraine

Dumplings
... and all the words/terms associated with your dumpling - use all spelling variations

Food
Food - history
Food - religious aspects
Food - social aspects
Food consumption
Food habits
Food in art
Food in literature

Dinners and dining
Fasts and feasts
Festivals
Holidays
Rites and ceremonies
Identity - local, national, regional

Examples:  Try these SUBJECT searches in ALEX. Substitute your country or region.

Cooking, Ukrainian
Food habits - Ukraine
Fairy tales - Ukraine
Folklore - Ukraine
Ukraine - description and travel
Ukraine - encyclopedias
Ukraine - pictorial works
Ukraine - social life and customs
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Reserve Books - Dumplings
Asian Dumplings: Mastering Gyoza, Spring Rolls, Samosas, and More
Print Location: Burke Reserve - TX724.5 .A1 N495 2009

Cambridge World History of Food
Also available in print.
Print Location: Burke Reserve - Ref TX353 .C255 2000

Dim Sum: The Art of Chinese Tea Lunch
Print Location: TX724.5.C5 B5697 2002

The Dumpling: A Seasonal Guide
Print Location: On Order for COLEG 235

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture

Print Location: Burke Reserve - Ref GT2850 .E53 2003

Encyclopedia of Pasta
Print Location: Burke Reserve - Ref TX394.5 .Z35 2009

Food Culture in China
Print Location: Burke Reserve - GT2853 .C55 N45 2004 

Food Culture in Germany

Food Culture in Japan
Print Location: 
TX 724.5.J3 A88 2003

Food Culture in Russia and Central Asia
Print Location: TX723.3 .M2356 2005

Food Culture in Scandinavia

Food Culture in the Near East, Middle East, and North Africa
Print Location: Burke Reserve - GT2853 .M628 H45 2004

Food Culture in Southeast Asia

Geometry of Pasta

Print Location: Burke Reserve - TX809 .M17 H515 2010

Lost Ravioli Recipes of Hoboken: A Search for Food and Family
Print Location: Burke Reserve - TX809 .M17 S243 2008

Pasta: The Story of a Universal Food
Print Location: Burke Reserve - TX809 .M17 S4713 2002

World of Dumplings: Filled Dumplings, Pockets, and Little Pies from Around the Globe
Print Location:
Burke Reserve - TX836 .Y37 2007
 + / - Food History Journals
Browse these journals for articles.
* indicates journals NOT part of Hamilton's subscriptions. Use interlibrary loan to request articles.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Bibliographies

World Food Habits
A bibliography of resources on the anthropology of food and nutrition.

Human Food Uses: A Cross-Cultural, Comprehensive Annotated Bibliography
Print Location: Ref GT2855 .F74 1981 + supplement


eBook Collections

Google Book Search Some full text available
Partnership between Google and a number of major research libraries aimed at digitizing their collections and making them available online. For successful searches choose "Full view only" and provide a date range.

Encyclopedias

Cambridge Histories Online Restricted Resource
Includes:
  • Cambridge History of Ancient China
  • Cambridge History of China
  • Cambridge History of Early Inner-Asia
  • Cambridge History of Japan
  • Cambridge History of Russia
  • Cambridge History of Scandinavia
  • Cambridge History of South-east Asia
  • Cambridge History of Turkey

Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
Print Location: Burke Reserve - Ref GT2850 .E53 2003


Oxford Encyclopedia of Food and Drink in America Restricted Resource Some full text available

Street Food Around the World: An Encyclopedia of Food and Culture Restricted Resource
Surveys common street foods in about 100 countries and regions of the world.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of World Folklore and Folklife
Print Location: Ref GR35 .G75 2006


Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life
Print Location: Ref GN333 .W67 1998


Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection Resource contains images
More than 11,000 maps scanned by the University of Texas Libraries. Most are in the public domain.
Please credit the "University of Texas Libraries" as the source of the scanned images.


News Sources

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Other Resources

eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnographic collection featuring over a million pages of indexed information from books, articles, and dissertations on more than 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world.
Help: Quick User's Guide - Video Tutorial - Visual Tutorial


 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. APA Chicago MLA

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746