Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
PubMed Unrestricted Resource
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

SciFinder Restricted Resource
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials
Note: Registration required.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

ACS Journals Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 30 American Chemical Society journals and magazines. Coverage: 1879-present.
bioRxiv Some full text available
 a free online archive and distribution service for unpublished preprints in the life sciences. It is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, a not-for-profit research and educational institution. By posting preprints on bioRxiv, authors are able to make their findings immediately available to the scientific community and receive feedback on draft manuscripts before they are submitted to journals.
BIOSIS Citation Index Restricted Resource
The most comprehensive coverage of the literature in the life sciences. Includes content from journals, reports, reviews, and meetings. Discover high impact articles with cited reference searching on the Web of Knowledge platform. Coverage: 1969-present.

MEDLINE Restricted Resource
Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

ScienceDirect Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

SciFinder Restricted Resource Some full text available
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials

note: Registration required.
Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Citation Guides

ACS Style Guide
Print Location: Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.
Lab Reports for Biology Some full text available
Hamilton College biology department guide to documenting commonly cited resource in biology.

New Oxford Dictionary for Scientific Writers and Editors Restricted Resource
This dictionary provides scientists, science writers, and all who work in scientific publishing with a clear style guide for the presentation of scientific information. In over 9,700 entries, it reflects widely accepted usage and follows the recommendations of international scientific bodies such as IUPAC and IUPAP. The dictionary gives clear guidance on such matters as spellings (American English and British English), punctuation, abbreviations, prefixes and suffixes, units and quantities, and symbols.

Dictionaries

Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Restricted Resource
Provides a comprehensive survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. Includes definitions of terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.

Encyclopedias

AccessScience Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

Dictionary of Scientists Restricted Resource Some full text available
Oxford University Press, 1999. A searchable biographical dictionary of scientists, covering all areas of science: physics and astronomy to medicine and ecology, including key figures in the fields of mathematics and technology.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.

Other Resources

ScienceDaily
 A current awareness resource which reports new science research in "lay" language, and often provides links to the scholarly source articles.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The biology department has created its own guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Lab Reports for Biology Unrestricted Resource
Hamilton College biology department guide to documenting commonly cited resource in biology.

ACS Style Guide Ref QD8.5 .A25 2006 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in the chemistry. Examples.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Glynis Asu

Glynis Asu
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4482