Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted Resource
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Print Location: Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedia of Shinto
The online Encyclopedia of Shinto is the English translation of the Shinto jiten edited by the Institute for Japanese Culture and Classics and published by Kobundo in 1994.

Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Web Sites

Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization
The goal of this "visual sourcebook" is to add to the material teachers can use to help their students understand Chinese history, culture, and society.

Electronic Resources for Chinese Classical Studies
  • 1. Introduction to Classical Chinese Historiography
  • 2. Relevant Electronic Resources for Chinese Studies
  • 3. Dictionaries
  • 4. Selected List Of Bibliographical & Geographical Aids
  • 5. Biographical Aids
  • 6. Some Aids For Translating Chinese Official Titles & Institutions
  • 7. Reference Guide to Classical Book Titles
  • 8. The Four Parts of the Imperial Library Si bu 四 部
  • 9. Bibliography of Chinese Classics & Literature In Translation With Recent Related Histories
  • 10. Selected English Bibliography For Chinese Civilization: A Brief Topical and Historical Survey to Ming Times
  • 11. Sources For The Ming Dynasty
  • 12. Sources For The Qing Dynasty
  • 13. Civil and Military Examination Bibliographies
  • 14. Epigraphy

International Dunhuang Project: The Silk Road Online
IDP contains  information and images of all manuscripts, paintings, textiles and artefacts from Dunhuang and archaeological sites of the Eastern Silk Road.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Asian studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481