Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Art Source Restricted Resource
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Art Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
A comprehensive bibliography of scholarly articles on the history of western art selected from over 1,200 journals. Searchable together with Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) at the Getty's website. Coverage: 1975-2007.

Readers' Guide Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus Restricted Resource Some full text available
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

Video Art Research Database
Over 1500 articles about video art and video artists.

Biographical Information

Dictionary of Art Historians
A biographical dictionary of historic scholars, museum professionals and academic historians of art.


Catalogs

Cinovid
A database for experimental film and video art.

Video Data Bank
A resource for video by and about contemporary artists.

Citation Guides

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present
Print Location: Ref N6490 .A87 1997


Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes:
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
  • Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
  • Dictionary of Modern Design
  • The Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture
  • Oxford Companion to Architecture
  • Oxford Companion to the Garden
  • Oxford Companion to the Photograph
  • Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Critical Terms for Art History
Print Location: Ref N34 .C75 1996


Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Covers American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century. Artists, major movements, institutions, and critics are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art.

Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art & Architecture Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
2007 ed. Spans every art form, medium and civilization from Cycladic, Minoan, Helladic, and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire.

Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
2006 ed. Covers ceramics, glassware, metalwork, weaving, furniture-making and interior decoration.

Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
2009 ed. In-depth art historical and cultural information about dynasties, art forms, artists, architecture, rulers, monuments, archaeological sites and stylistic developments with illustrations of sculpture, mosaic, painting, ceramics, architecture, metalwork and calligraphy.

Smarthistory Resource contains images Resource contains audio Some full text available
A free and open, not-for-profit, art history multimedia textbook.

Encyclopedia of Nineteenth-Century Photography
Print Location: Ref TR9 .H25 2008


Encyclopedia of Twentieth-Century Photography
Print Location: Ref TR642 .E5 2006


Encyclopedia of Sculpture
Print Location: Ref NB198 .E53 2004


Handbooks

Art Information: Research Methods and Resources
Print Location: Ref N85 .J64 1990
A guide to research methods and resources in art history.

Art Information on the Internet: How to Find It, How to Use It
Print Location: Ref N59 .J66 1999
A guide to art history research tools, online and print.

Art Market Research: A Guide to Methods and Soures
Print Location: Ref N5200 .M39 2006
A guide to the fine and decorative arts market, including research techniques and resources.

Images & Multimedia

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

Getty Open Content Images Resource contains images
More than 10,000 images from the J. Paul Getty Museum and the Getty Research Institute available through the Open Content Program. These include paintings, drawings, manuscripts, photographs, antiquities, sculpture, decorative arts, artists' sketchbooks, watercolors, rare prints from the 16th through the 18th century, and 19th-century architectural drawings of cultural landmarks.
ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Images of fine art and decorative art from around the world. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, web projects and other assignments. Coverage: Prehistory to the present.

Google Art Project Resource contains images
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery Resource contains images
Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.

Oxford Art Online: Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images
More than 6,000 searchable images from museum collections, and 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries.

TED-Ed
A curated library of educational videos.

Internet Archive Some full text available Resource contains video Resource contains audio
The Internet Archive is a non-profit founded in 1996 to build an Internet library, with the purpose of offering permanent access for researchers, historians, and scholars to historical collections that exist in digital format. It includes texts, audio, moving images, and software as well as archived web pages in its collections.

Maps & Atlases

Art Atlas
Print Location: Reference Atlas Table G1046 .E1 O9 2008
Originally published as The Atlas of World Art.

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

News Sources

World News Connection Restricted Resource Some full text available
Foreign news sources (over 500 news sources from 130 countries) selected for translation by the U.S. government. This database is no longer being updated. Coverage: 1995-2013.

NOTE: For current international news in translation see: BBC Monitoring: International Reports in LexisNexis Academic.


America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Gannett Newsstand Restricted Resource Some full text available
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.

Provided by NOVELny.


Newspapers

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.


New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Times (London) Digital Archive Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of articles from the paper's Eastern edition. Does not include images, charts, or other graphics. Coverage: 1984-present.


Primary Sources

American Memory Some full text available Resource contains images Resource contains video Resource contains audio
Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.

Archives Directory for the History of Collecting in America
Designed to help researchers locate primary source material about American art collectors, dealers, agents and advisors, and the repositories that hold these records. Provided by the Frick Art Reference Library.
Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian's collection of letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the history of visual arts in America.

Professional Organizations

American Association of Museums
Develops standards and best practices, gathers and shares knowledge, and provides advocacy on issues of concern to the entire museum community.

Center for the Future of Museums
CFM is a think-tank and research and design lab for fostering creativity and helping museums explore new ways to serve a changing society.

Web Sites

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Resource contains images
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art, illustrated with works from the collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Modern & Contemporary Artists and Art
Famous, established and emerging artists since 1900 are represented with their portrait, biography and/or portfolio, and with links to web resources.

Mother of all Art and Art History Links
An annotated list of art resources for art scholars. Maintained by the University of Michigan School of Art & Design.
Museum Studies: Online Resources for Students and Practitioners
A list of resources intended to help researchers and practitioners learn more about museum management and organization.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The art and art history departments generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

A Short Guide to Writing about Art Ref N7476 .B37 2008 Restricted Resource
by Sylvan Barnet. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2008.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Information Literacy Standards
Information Competencies for Students in Design Disciplines

Divided into basic, intermediate, and advanced skills in each design discipline (architecture, art history, studio arts, fashion, interior design, and museum studies).

These competencies are intended to facilitate a systematic means of integrating information literacy skills into the core curriculum of design students.

Please contact your department liaison librarian, Lynn Mayo, to discuss how competencies can be integrated into specific course goals.

Art Libraries Society of North America, 2006.
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746