Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Multi-disciplinary database that indexes many of the core journals in all four subfields of anthropology. Coverage varies by publication.

e-HRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource
Ethnographic collection featuring over a million pages of indexed information from books, articles, and dissertations on more than 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world.Help: Quick User's Guide - Video Tutorial - Visual Tutorial
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Multi-disciplinary database that indexes many of the core journals in all four subfields of anthropology. Coverage varies by publication.
Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.
note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.

Citation Guides

AAA Style Guide Some full text available
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in anthropology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the AAA Style Guide does not provide guidance.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource Some full text available
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Some full text available
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Other Resources

Digital Archaeological Record (tDAR)
Online archive for archaeological information, hosted at Arizona State University.  Resource types include documents, images, coding sheets, data sets, 3D/sesory data, ontologies, and projects. 

eHRAF World Cultures Restricted Resource Some full text available
Ethnographic collection featuring over a million pages of indexed information from books, articles, and dissertations on more than 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world.
Help: Quick User's Guide - Video Tutorial - Visual Tutorial


 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The anthropology department generally follows guidelines from the AAA Style Guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

AAA Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in anthropology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the AAA Style Guide does not provide guidance.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321