Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Literature Resource Center Restricted Resource Some full text available
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Biographical Information

American National Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Biographical portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped the American nation. Updated quarterly.

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Citation Guides

Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources
Provides information on where to access key writing and style guides along with a list of preferred documentation styles for each academic department.

Research and Documentation Online Some full text available
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

History Matters
Selective gateway to U.S. history web resources. Also includes first-person, primary documents and teaching resources. Searchable by keyword or topic.

Encyclopedias

Dictionary of American History
Print Location: Ref E174 .D52 2003
Encyclopedic survey of American history in ten volumes. Signed essays explore the country's political, military, economic, social, and cultural history. Brief, annotated bibliographies are included for each entry.

Encyclopedia of American Social History
Print Location: Ref HN57 .E58 1993
Scholarly essays with annotated bibliographies surveying American social history. Topics include: periods of social change; processes of social change; ethnic and racial subcultures; regionalism and regional subcultures; space and place; patterns of everyday life; work and labor; popular culture and recreation; family history; social problems; science and technology; and education.

Encyclopedia of American Studies
Print Location: Ref E169.1 .E625 2001
Signed essays with bibliographies on topics related to American culture.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online Unrestricted Resource
A good place to start. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource. Consult the departmental preferences table in the library's guide to citing sources if you are not sure which documentation style to follow. APA Chicago MLA

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Reid Larson

Reid Larson
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4480