Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Black Studies Center Restricted Resource
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Alternative Press Index and Archive Restricted Resource
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

British Periodicals Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Clase and Periódica Restricted Resource

Index of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English language articles in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology. Coverage: 1975-present (Clase);  1978-present (Periódica).


Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Women's Studies International Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Bibliographies

Sourcebook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
Print Location: REF E184.S75 S6


Biographical Information

American National Biography Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Biographical portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped the American nation. Updated quarterly.

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Black Biography, 1790-1950 : A Cumulative Index
Print Location: REF E 185.96 .B52 1991
v. 1. A-J
v. 2. K-Z
v. 3. Indexes.


Women in World History : A Biographical Encyclopedia
Print Location: REF HQ 1115 .W6 1999


Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Handbooks

Handbook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
Print Location: REF E 184.S75 H365 1993
v. [1]. Anthropology / edited and introduced by Thomas Weaver
v. [2]. History / edited and introduced by Alfredo Jiménez
v. [3]. Literature and art / edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí
v. [4]. Sociology / edited and introduced by Félix Padilla.

Latino Studies Reader: Culture, Economy and Society
Print Location: E184.S75 L3627 1998


Maps & Atlases

AtoZ Maps Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

News Sources

African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.


America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

Historical Black Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers. Search together or by individual title.
  • Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
  • Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
  • Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
  • New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
  • Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002

New York State Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full-text of articles from more than 30 New York State newspapers. Missing images and some content. Includes publications from Albany, Buffalo, and New York City, and Syracuse. Coverage: Varies by title.

Provided by NOVELny.
LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Web Gateways

Library Research Guide for Latino Studies
Written by Cornell University Librarians. Some materials may not be owned or accessible by non-Cornell affiliates.

Web Sites

Latin American and Caribbean Center
Part of the School of International and Public Affairs at Florida International University.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. African American studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481