Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Adirondack Resources at Hamilton College
This guide is an aid for finding resources relating to the cultural and natural history of New York's Adirondack region available through Burke Library. The starting point for anyone interested in exploring what has been published about the Adirondacks before 1966 remains the two bibliographies produced by the Adirondack Mountain Club and the Adirondack Museum:
Consult the sections below for information on where to find items cited by the bibliographies and for additional resources from the past 50 years.

For information on environmental topics, the "Scholarly Articles, Reports, and Statisics" section is a particularly useful starting point.
 + / - Scholarly Articles, Reports, and Statistics
  • Adirondack Ecological Center - Selected Publications Unrestricted Resource
    Extensive bibliography of articles, theses, and dissertations produced by scholars and students associated with the AEC.
     
  • Adirondack Journal of Environmental Studies: AJES Burke Periodicals Unrestricted Resource
    Journal of the Adirondack Research Consortium, aims to bridge the gaps among academic disciplines and among researchers and practitioners devoted to understanding and promoting the development of sustainable communities in the Adirondacks, both human and wild.
    Print, 1994 - ; Online, 2005-  ; Tables of content, 1994-2004
     
  • Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation was created to monitor changes to natural ecosystems of the Adirondack Mountain ecological zone with a focus on water quality, atmospheric deposition, fish surveys, and other biological and chemical studies for the benefit of regulatory agencies and the general public. Surveys and data are available from 1984 to the present.
     
  • Adirondack Park Agency - Research, Science and Planning Policy Unrestricted Resource
    Includes links to EPA wetland and watershed reports, land use statistics, and other agency management plans and reports.
     
  • Bibliography of Adirondack Architecture Unrestricted Resource
    Historical bibliography of the built environment in the Adirondack region of New York State. Compiled by Richard Longstreth in 1996. Revised September 12, 2010.
     
  • Department of Environmental Conservation Unit Management Plans Unrestricted Resource
    The New York State DEC's Unit Management Plans (UMPs) assess the natural and physical resources present within a land unit, identify opportunities for public use which are consistent with the classifications of these lands, and consider the ability of the resources and ecosystems to accommodate such use.

 
Listed below are some multidisciplinary and discipline-specific databases that index books and articles on Adirondack-related topics. For additional sources, consult the library's subject guides.
 

  • Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
    Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
     
  • America: History & Life Restricted Resource
    Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.
     
  • BioOne Restricted Resource
    Full text of articles from more than 90 journals with indexing and abstracts for more than 60 additional journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Coverage: 2000-present.
     
  • Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management Restricted Resource
    Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.
     
  • GeoRef Restricted Resource
    Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.
     
  • GreenFILE Restricted Resource
    Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.
 + / - Books

INDEXES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

  • Adirondack Bibliography Unrestricted Resource
    List of books, pamphlets and periodical articles about the Adirondacks published through 1955. Print edition is available at Ref  F127.A2 A425 1958.
     
  • Adirondack Bibliography Supplement Ref F127.A2 A425 1958 Suppl. Unrestricted Resource
    List of books, pamphlets and periodical articles about the Adirondacks published from 1956-1965.
     
  • Adirondack Books 1966-1992 Ref F127.A2 A426 1994 Unrestricted Resource
    Annotated bibliography of Adirondack books published from 1966-1992.
     
  • Bibliography of Adirondack Architecture Unrestricted Resource
    Historical bibliography of the built environment in the Adirondack region of New York State. Compiled by Richard Longstreth in 1996. Revised September 12, 2010.
     

BOOKS AT HAMILTON

eBOOKs AND OTHER LIBRARY COLLECTIONS

  • Hathi Trust - Adirondack Region Collection Unrestricted Resource
    Searchable collection of full view books with information on the cultural and natural history of New York’s Adirondack region. Most titles were orginally published before 1923.
     
  • WorldCat Restricted Resource
    Catalog of books, periodicals, videos, and other materials from more than 72,000 libraries worldwide. Most items are available through interlibrary loan and arrive in less than 2 weeks.
 + / - Magazines

INDEXES AND BIBLIOGRAPHIES

  • Adirondack Bibliography Unrestricted Resource
    List of books, pamphlets and periodical articles about the Adirondacks published through 1955. Print edition is available at Ref  F127.A2 A425 1958.
     
  • Adirondack Bibliography Supplement Ref F127.A2 A425 1958 Suppl. Unrestricted Resource
    List of books, pamphlets and periodical articles about the Adirondacks published from 1956-1965.
     
  • Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
    Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

ADIRONDACK MAGAZINES AND JOURNALS AT HAMILTON COLLEGE

Print issues for the most recent year are located on the first floor. Older issues are located in the basement.


HISTORICAL MAGAZINE COLLECTIONS

  • American Periodicals Restricted Resource
    Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.
     
  • Hathi Trust Unrestricted Resource
    Provides cataloging and online access for millions of books and journals digitized by Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and major research libraries.
     
  • HarpWeek Restricted Resource
    Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly, a publication that played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War through the end of the 19th century. Includes index. Coverage: 1857-1912.
     
 + / - Newspapers & Blogs

CURRENT NEWS SOURCES

  • Adirondack Almanack Unrestricted Resource
    Online news magazine whose contributors include veteran local writers, journalists, historians, naturalists, and outdoor enthusiasts from around the Adirondack region.
     
  • Adirondack Daily Enterprise Unrestricted Resource
    Published in Saranac Lake, the Daily Enterprise is the only daily newspaper published in the Adirondack Park.
  • America's Newspapers - Adirondack Region Restricted Resource
    Full text of articles from more than 100 New York state news sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the late 1990s. The following newspapers are likely to include articles for parts of the Adirondack region:
    • Albany Times Union
    • Glens Falls Post-Star
    • Plattsburgh Press-Republican
    • Watertown Daily Times

HISTORICAL NEWSPAPER COLLECTIONS

  • New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource
    Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.
     
  • Northern New York Historical Newspapers Unrestricted Resource
    Complete contents and original layout of nineteen newspapers published from the mid-19th to the mid-20th century.
     
  • America's Historical Newspapers Restricted Resource
    More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.
 + / - Image & Document Collections

CONTEMPORARY SOURCES

HISTORICAL SOURCES

  • New York Heritage Digital Collection Unrestricted Resource
    Digital collections (mostly images) from libraries, museums and archives in New York State.
     
  • New York Public Library Digital Gallery Unrestricted Resource
    Over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
     
  • New York State Archives Digital Image Collection Unrestricted Resource
    Digitized images, maps, and documents from the collection of the New York State archives and library.
     
  • American Memory Unrestricted Resource
    Collection of primary sources relating to the history and culture of the United States from the Library of Congress.
     
  • ARTstor Restricted Resource
    Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
    Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
    Instructor Privileges:  To obtain these privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

 + / - Maps & Atlases
  • Adirondack Atlas Ref F127.A2 J46 2004
    A geographic portrait of the Adirondack Park with 450 full-color maps and 250 figures, graphs, tables, charts, and scientific drawings.

     
  • Adirondack Park Agency Maps and GIS Unrestricted Resource
    Wide variety of maps of the Adirondack  region. Features maps showing land use, broadband availability, population, easements, Forest Preserve lands, land cover, schools, towers, viewshed protection, zip codes, lakes and ponds entirely surrounded by Forest Preserve lands, snowmobile use, and military training routes.
     
  • Adirondack Maps Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Regional Tourism Council provides maps for hiking, canoeing, birding, lodging, camping, golfing, rafting, snowmobiling, skiing, hunting, fishing, and touring.
     
  • Adirondack Regional Geographic Information System Unrestricted Resource
    ARGIS is an experimental site designed to connect data consumers to spatial data relating to the Adirondack Park Region. Check out the "Help" tab for some video tutorials on using the site.
     
  • New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Mapping Gateway Unrestricted Resource
    Collection of static and interactive maps for exploring the state's forests, recreation areas, wildlife distribution, and other natural resources.
 + / - Adirondack Organizations

Organizations included in the list have a park-wide focus and a website that includes links to document collections, images, news, reports, statistics, surveys, or other research materials. It represents only a small subset of the organizations that are active within the park's boundaries.

  • Adirondack Architectural Heritage Unrestricted Resource
    Adirondack Architectural Heritage (AARCH) is the nonprofit historic preservation organization for New York State's Adirondack Park. AARCH was formed in 1990 with a mission to promote better public understanding, appreciation and stewardship of the Adirondacks unique and diverse architectural heritage.
     
  • Adirondack Council Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Council is a private, not-for-profit environmental organization that has been working since 1975 to ensure the ecological integrity and wild character of New York State's 6 million acre Adirondack Park.
     
  • Adirondack Ecological Center Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Ecological Center was established in 1971 by the State University of New York College of Environmental Forestry in Syracuse to provide the science that underpins the management of Adirondack Park as one of the world's foremost experiments in conservation and sustainability.
     
  • Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Lakes Survey Corporation was created to monitor changes to natural ecosystems of the Adirondack Mountain ecological zone with a focus on water quality, atmospheric deposition, fish surveys, and other biological and chemical studies for the benefit of regulatory agencies and the general public. Surveys and data are available from 1984 to the present.
     
  • Adirondack Mountain Club Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Mountain Club (ADK) is a nonprofit membership organization that protects wild lands and waters through a balanced approach of conservation and advocacy, environmental education, and responsible recreation.
     
  • Adirondack Museum and Research Library Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Museum has the largest and most comprehensive collection of artifacts and archival materials relating to the history of the Adirondack region.
     
  • Adirondack North Country Association Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack North Country Association is a non-profit, private corporation that seeks to strengthen the economy and quality of life in the 14 counties of northern New York through informed, open debate and advocacy.
     
  • Adirondack Park Agency Unrestricted Resource
    The APA is a New York State government agency created in 1971 by the state legislature to develop long-range land use plans for both public and private lands within the Adirondack Park.
     
  • Adirondack Research Consortium Unrestricted Resource
    The Adirondack Research Consortium (ARC) was founded to bring together scientists from research organizations and people who work to make the Park a better place, such as business owners, local and State governments, private land managers, farmers, foresters, teachers, and interested citizens.
     
  • New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Unrestricted Resource
    New York State department charged with conserving, improving and protecting the state's natural resources and environment.
     
  • Protect the Adirondacks! Unrestricted Resource
    Protect the Adirondacks!, Inc is a grassroots, membership organization dedicated to the protection, stewardship and sustainability of the natural environment and human communities of the Adirondack Park and the New York State Forest Preserve for current and future generations. The organization is the result of a 2009 consolidation of the Residents’ Committee to Protect the Adirondacks and The Association for the Protection of the Adirondacks.
 + / - Reference Sources
  • An Adirondack Chronology Unrestricted Resource
  • Atlas of United States Environmental Issues Atlas Table G1201.G3 M3 1990 Unrestricted Resource
  • Environmental Encyclopedia Ref GE10 .E38 2003 Unrestricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Environmental Issues Ref GE10 .E52 2000 Unrestricted Resource
  • Dictionary of Environmental Quotations Ref PN6084.N2 D53 1992 Unrestricted Resource
  • Changing Wilderness Values, 1930-1990: An Annotated Bibliography Ref QH75 .E4 1991 Unrestricted Resource
  • Field Guide to Eastern Forests, North America Ref QH102 .K75 1988 Unrestricted Resource
  • Collins Encyclopedia of Animal Ecology Ref QH541 .C655 1986 Unrestricted Resource
  • Eastern Birds Ref QL683.A87 F37 1988 Unrestricted Resource
  • Second Atlas of Breeding Birds in New York State Ref QL684.N7 S43 2008 Unrestricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment Ref S591 .E53 2003 Unrestricted Resource
  • Encyclopedia of American Forest and Conservation History Ref SD143 .E53 1983 Unrestricted Resource
  • North American Reference Encyclopedia of Ecology and Pollution Ref TD175 .N67 Unrestricted Resource
  • Acid Rain Sourcebook Ref TD196.A25 A33 1984 Unrestricted Resource
  • Endangered Plant Species of the World and their Endangered Habitats Ref Z5354.P73 M53 1985 Unrestricted Resource
 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form