Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Art Source Restricted Resource
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Art Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Bibliographies

Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
A comprehensive bibliography of scholarly articles on the history of western art selected from over 1,200 journals. Searchable together with Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) at the Getty's website. Coverage: 1975-2007.

Citation Guides

Short Guide to Writing about Art
Print Location: Ref N7476 .B37 2008
by Sylvan Barnet. 9th ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ: Pearson, 2008.

Dictionaries

Artspeak: A Guide to Contemporary Ideas, Movements, and Buzzwords, 1945 to the Present
Print Location: Ref N6490 .A87 1997


Oxford Reference Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Includes:
  • Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms
  • Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture
  • Dictionary of Modern and Contemporary Art
  • Dictionary of Modern Design
  • Oxford Companion to Architecture
  • Oxford Companion to the Garden
  • Oxford Companion to the Photograph
  • Oxford Companion to Western Art
  • Oxford Dictionary of American Art and Artists
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art
  • Oxford Dictionary of Art and Artists

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Critical Terms for Art History
Print Location: Ref N34 .C75 1996


Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Grove Encyclopedia of American Art Restricted Resource Some full text available
2011 ed. Covers American painting, architecture, sculpture, and photography from the Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the twenty-first century. Artists, major movements, institutions, and critics are covered, as are new media and methodologies, including digital art, performance art, and installation art.

Handbooks

Art Market Research: A Guide to Methods and Soures
Print Location: Ref N5200 .M39 2006
A guide to the fine and decorative arts market, including research techniques and resources.

Images & Multimedia

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Images of fine art and decorative art from around the world. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, web projects and other assignments. Coverage: Prehistory to the present.

Google Art Project Resource contains images
Explore the thousands of artworks in the collections of major art museums and galleries from around the world. Viewers can create their own collections and do side-by-side examinations of works.

Oxford Art Online: Images Restricted Resource Resource contains images
More than 6,000 searchable images from museum collections, and 40,000 editorially selected image links to museums and galleries.

News Sources

America's Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Newspapers

New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) Restricted Resource Some full text available
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Wall Street Journal Restricted Resource Some full text available

Full text of articles from the paper's Eastern edition. Does not include images, charts, or other graphics. Coverage: 1984-present.


Primary Sources

Archives of American Art
The Smithsonian's collection of letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the history of visual arts in America.

Professional Organizations

American Association of Museums
Develops standards and best practices, gathers and shares knowledge, and provides advocacy on issues of concern to the entire museum community.

Center for the Future of Museums
CFM is a think-tank and research and design lab for fostering creativity and helping museums explore new ways to serve a changing society.

Web Sites

Heilbrunn Timeline of Art History Resource contains images
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art, illustrated with works from the collection of The Metropolitan Museum of Art.

Modern & Contemporary Artists and Art
Famous, established and emerging artists since 1900 are represented with their portrait, biography and/or portfolio, and with links to web resources.

Mother of all Art and Art History Links
An annotated list of art resources for art scholars. Maintained by the University of Michigan School of Art & Design.
 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The economics department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746