Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.

Art Source Restricted Resource
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Browse the Library's Collection
Browse the Catalog by Subject Heading:

Architecture, Modern
Architecture, Modern -- 20th century
Architecture, Modern -- 21st century
Modern movement (Architecture)
Architecture and globalization
Architecture and society
Architects
Buildings
City planning
Skyscrapers
Architecture -- New York State
Architecture -- United States
New York (N.Y.) -- Buildings, structures, etc.

Browse the Collection by Library of Congress Classification Number:
note: Some Art and Architecture books can be found in the ART OVERSIZE AND FOLIO shelves.

NA 1-60 - Architecture (General)
NA 190-1555.5 - History
-- NA 500-699 - Modern
---- NA 680-699 - 20th Century
NA 705-729 - Architecture, U.S.
NA 730 - Architecture, U.S., by State
NA 735 - Architecture, U.S., by City
NA 2000-2320 - Study and Teaching
NA 2500-2599 - Theory, Comprehensive Works
NA 2599.5-2599.9 - Criticism
NA 2750-2794 - Architectural Design
NA 3310-4050 - Architectural Decoration
NA 4170-8480 - Buildings, by Use, e.g., public buildings
-- NA 4170-7010 - Public Buildings
---- NA 6230 - Office Buildings
---- NA 6300-6307 - Airports
---- NA 6700 - Museums, Exhibition Buildings
NA 7210-7476 - Domestic Architecture by Country
NA 7100-7880 - Domestic Architecture, Houses, Dwellings
NA 9000-9430 - City Planning/Urban Design (see also HT)
Z679 - Library design
 + / - Architecture Journals
The following journals are available online or in print.
For links and detailed holdings see the Journals A-Z list.

Architectural Design, 2005-
Architectural History, 1958-2009
Architectural Record, 1968-
Architectural Review, 1970-
Environment and Behavior, 1997-
Grey Room, 2000-
Interior Design, 1983-
Journal of Architectural Education, 1984-
Journal of the American Planning Association, 1979-
Journal of the Society of Architectural Historians, 1945-
Journal of Urban Design, 1996-
Landscape Journal, 1997-
Perspecta (Yale School of Arch.), 1952
Places (MIT), 1981-
Werk, Bauen + Wohnen (Munich), 2001-
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Art Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA)
A comprehensive bibliography of scholarly articles on the history of western art selected from over 1,200 journals. Searchable together with Répertoire de la litterature de l'art (RILA) at the Getty's website. Coverage: 1975-2007.

Biographical Information

Great Builders
Print Location: Ref NA40 .G74 2011
Thames and Hudson, 2011.

Dictionaries

Dictionary of Architecture and Landscape Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2006.

Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford Companion to Architecture Restricted Resource Some full text available
2009 ed. Covers all aspects of architecture, from architects, building types, and movements and styles to materials, aspects of design, and definitions. It is particularly strong in its coverage of architecture around the world, and of modern and vernacular architecture.


Encyclopedia of 20th Century Architecture
Print Location: Ref NA680 .E495 2004
3 vols. Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004.

Images & Multimedia

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

SAHARA - Society of Architectural Historians Architecture Resources Archive Resource contains images
A community-built digital image archive developed by the Society of Architectural Historians in collaboration with ARTstor. Funded by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, SAHARA contains more than 47,000 images of architecture and landscapes contributed by SAH members--architects, scholars, photographers, graduate students, preservationists and others who share an interest in the built world.

Access is restricted to SAH members. Please use your SAH login credentials.

note: ARTH 297 Students: Use the login provided to you by Professor Chua.
 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The economics department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Lynn Mayo

Lynn Mayo
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4746