Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Databases
Anthropology Plus Restricted Resource
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.

ERIC Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy reports, and other materials related to education. Includes the full text for more than 300,000 items. Coverage: 1966-present.

Sociological Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Communication & Mass Media Complete Restricted Resource
Index of more than 400 journals related to the study of communication and associated disciplines, with full text access to more than 200 journals dating as far back as 1915.

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.
 + / - Journals
Anthropology & Education Quarterly Restricted Resource
Anthropology & Education Quarterly is a peer-reviewed journal that draws on anthropological theories and methods to examine educational processes in and out of schools, in US and international contexts. Articles rely primarily on ethnographic research to address immediate problems of practice as well as broad theoretical questions.

American Ethnologist Restricted Resource
American Ethnologist is concerned with ethnology in the term’s broadest sense. Articles published in the journal explore connections between ethnographic specificity and theoretical originality, and convey the relevance of the ethnographic imagination to the contemporary world.

Journal of Linguistic Anthropology Restricted Resource
The Journal of Linguistic Anthropology explores the many ways in which language shapes social life. Published in the journal’s pages are articles on the anthropological study of language, including analysis of discourse, language in society, language and cognition, and language acquisition and socialization.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Help Citing Sources
The anthropology department generally follows guidelines from the AAA Style Guide. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

AAA Style Guide Unrestricted Resource
Guide to documenting commonly cited resource in anthropology. Consult the Chicago Manual of Style in cases where the AAA Style Guide does not provide guidance.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

RefWorks and Write-N-Cite Tutorials Unrestricted Resource
ProQuest ReWorks tutorial videos.  Includes Write-N-Cite 4. 

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Laura Festine

Laura Festine
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4321