Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

MLA International Bibliography Restricted Resource
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Web of Science Restricted Resource
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts Restricted Resource Some full text available
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Country Information

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


WHO Country Profiles
For each country a health profile and data on disease, mortality, health services and systems, childhood nutrition and health risk factors.

Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Description and analysis of the history, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Government and Politics of the Middle East and North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS62.8 .G68 2011
Chapters cover the history, politics and economics of the countries and region. Includes maps and extensive bibliographies. 6th ed., 2011.

Dictionaries

Historical Dictionary of Women in Sub-Saharan Africa
Print Location: REF HQ 1787 .S44 2005


Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: REF DT 14 A37435 1999


Encyclopedia of the Modern Middle East & North Africa
Print Location: Ref DS43 .E53 2004


New Encyclopedia of Africa Restricted Resource Some full text available
2nd ed. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.

Handbooks

Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature vol 1 Restricted Resource
Offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Addresses the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. Provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora.
Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature vol. 2 Restricted Resource
Offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Addresses the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. Provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora

Images & Multimedia

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.

Images, text, or other content downloaded from the collection may be freely used for non-profit educational and research purposes, or any other use falling within the purview of "Fair Use".


Web Sites

African Studies Center
A gateway to internet resources hosted by the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.
More Info: Country Pages - Africa Web Links

African Studies Internet Resources
Note: Some sources restricted to the Columbia University community.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The comparative literature department generally follows guidelines from the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Unrestricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481