Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
 Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Clase and Periódica Restricted Resource

Index of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English language articles in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology. Coverage: 1975-present (Clase);  1978-present (Periódica).


LexisNexis Academic Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Google Scholar
Search for articles in scholarly journals. Also includes patents, court opinions and law journals.

Google Scholar Tip:
On Campus users will see the Find It @ Hamilton link with article citations. Use this to connect to articles in Hamilton's online journals.

Off Campus users can also link directly to Hamilton online journals by setting a Google Scholar Preference.
  1. Go to Google Scholar.
  2. In the top menu bar select Settings.
  3. Select Library Links (left column) and search for Hamilton.
  4. Select Hamilton College-Find It @ Hamilton and then Save.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

America: History & Life Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Biographical Information

Black Biography, 1790-1950 : A Cumulative Index
Print Location: REF E 185.96 .B52 1991
v. 1. A-J
v. 2. K-Z
v. 3. Indexes.


Dictionaries

Dictionary of Afro-Latin American Civilization
Print Location: REF F 1408.3 N86


Document Collections

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

FBI Files on Puerto Ricans
This website is an educational project of the Center for Puerto Rican Studies. It contains formerly secret files produced by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) from the 1930s to the 1990s.

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: REF DT 14 A37435 1999


Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
Print Location: REF F 1406 E53 1996


Handbooks

Handbook of Hispanic Culture in the United States
Print Location: REF E 184.S75 H365 1993
v. [1]. Anthropology / edited and introduced by Thomas Weaver
v. [2]. History / edited and introduced by Alfredo Jiménez
v. [3]. Literature and art / edited and introduced by Francisco Lomelí
v. [4]. Sociology / edited and introduced by Félix Padilla.

Handbook of Latin American Studies
Bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress. Coverage: 1935-present.

Latino Studies Reader: Culture, Economy and Society
Print Location: E184.S75 L3627 1998


News Sources

African American Newspapers Restricted Resource Some full text available
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

Black Studies Center Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

Ethnic NewsWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

Web Gateways

Library Research Guide for Latino Studies
Written by Cornell University Librarians. Some materials may not be owned or accessible by non-Cornell affiliates.

Web Sites

Afro-Cuba Web
Presents the African cultures in Cuba.

Archives of the Puerto Rican Diaspora
A research center dedicated to the study and interpretation of the Puerto Rican experience in the United States.
Latin American and Caribbean Center
Part of the School of International and Public Affairs at Florida International University.

 + / - Image Resources
Finding Images and Multimedia Resources
Guide to locating resources in Burke Library and on the web.
 + / - Citing Sources
The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. The history department generally follows guidelines from the Chicago Manual of Style. Consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for other citation style options.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Writing a Good History Paper Unrestricted Resource
The Hamilton College history department's writing guide.

RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481