Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Best Bets
JSTOR Restricted Resource
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere. Arts & Sciences collections I-IX Life Sciences collection

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.
 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Art Source Restricted Resource Some full text available
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

Music Index Restricted Resource
Index of articles, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries from more than 700 international music periodicals, including classical and popular music. Coverage: 1952-present.

JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Historical Abstracts Restricted Resource
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Biographical Information

Country Information

CountryWatch Restricted Resource Some full text available

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


Country Studies (Library of Congress)
Description and analysis of the history, social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.

Encyclopedias

Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
Print Location: REF DT 14 A37435 1999


Grove Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Scholarly encyclopedia for music research with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies.

note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
New Encyclopedia of Africa Restricted Resource Some full text available
2nd ed. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008. Covers issues facing the continent such as global development, the AIDS crisis, and international terrorism.

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought Restricted Resource Some full text available
Offers a comprehensive view of African thought, covering the intellectual tradition on the continent and throughout the diaspora. All major trends in African philosophy, political theory, and religion will be covered, as well as significant historical figures and social movements.
Oxford Music Online Restricted Resource Some full text available
Gateway to some of Oxford's major music reference sources with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. Includes full texts with updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.

Handbooks

Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature vol 1 Restricted Resource
Offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Addresses the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. Provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora.
Cambridge history of African and Caribbean literature vol. 2 Restricted Resource
Offers new perspectives on African and Caribbean literature. Addresses the literature itself, the practices and conditions of its composition, and its complex relationship with African social and geopolitical history. Provides an account of the entire body of productions that can be considered to comprise the field of African literature, defined both by imaginative expression in Africa itself and the black diaspora
Oxford Guide to Film Studies
Print Location: REF PN 1995 .O93 1998


Images & Multimedia

Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent Resource contains images Resource contains audio
Contains more than 3000 slides, 500 photographs, and 50 hours of sounds from forty-five different countries.

Images, text, or other content downloaded from the collection may be freely used for non-profit educational and research purposes, or any other use falling within the purview of "Fair Use".


News Sources

AllAfrica.com
Aggregated news from over 130 African news organizations in English and French, with a searchable archive from 1997.

News and Information Services on Africa
Links to news sources compiled by the Columbia University Libraries.

Primary Sources

African Activist Archive
The African Activist Archive is preserving and making available online the records of activisim in the United States to support the struggles of African peoples against colonialism, apartheid, and social injustic from the 1950s through the 1990s. The website includes:
  • A growing online archive of historical materials - pamphlets, newsletters, leaflets, buttons, posters, T-shirts, photographs, and audio and video recordings
  • personal remembrances and interviews with activists
  • an international directory of collections depostited in libraries and archives

South African History Online - Media Library
South African History Online (SAHO) is a non-partisan people's history project  established in June 2000 aiming to address the biased way in which the history and cultural heritage of South Africans was represented in educational and cultural institutions.

Web Sites

African Studies Center
A gateway to internet resources hosted by the University of Pennsylvania's African Studies Center.
More Info: Country Pages - Africa Web Links

African Studies Internet Resources
Note: Some sources restricted to the Columbia University community.

Selected Resources for African Studies
Note: Some sources restricted to the Yale University community.

 + / - Image Resources
Finding Images and Multimedia Resources
Guide to locating resources in Burke Library and on the web.
 + / - Books
ALEX ~ Hamilton Library Catalog
Search for

Borrow from Another Library
Hamilton students, faculty, and staff may borrow materials from other libraries that we either don't own or are currently checked out.

Finding Books
Links to major eBook collections and other library catalogs.

 + / - Citing Sources

The resources listed below can be particularly helpful. African American studies course assignments generally follow guidelines from either the Chicago Manual of Style or the MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers. Ask your professor if he or she prefers a particular citation style, and consult the Hamilton College Library Guide to Citing Sources for additional resources.

Research and Documentation Online - Chicago Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using Chicago style.

Research and Documentation Online - MLA Style Unrestricted Resource
A good starting place. Provides rules and examples for documenting commonly cited resource using MLA style.

Chicago Manual of Style Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers Ref Desk LB2369 .G53 2009 Restricted Resource
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in English and the humanities.


RefWorks Restricted Resource
Research management tool that generates bibliographies, formats footnotes, and stores information imported from the library's databases and other online resources.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481