Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
 + / - Evocative Objects
This guide was created for anyone reading or leading discussions on the Hamilton College Class of 2016 Common Reading, Evocative Objects, by Sherry Turkle.

Find databases, books, videos, images, websites, and other tools related to topics in the book.

 

 + / - All Resources

Article Databases

Academic Search Premier Restricted Resource Resource contains images Some full text available
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

Art Index Retrospective Restricted Resource
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.
JSTOR Restricted Resource Some full text available
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

Images & Multimedia

ARTstor Restricted Resource Resource contains images
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

Division of Anthropology, American Museum of Natural History
Provides online access to images and descriptions from the American Museum of Natural History's Division of Anthropology which since 1873 has gathered objects from cultures in the Americas, Africa, Asia, and the Greater North Pacific Region.
 + / - Other Helpful Resources
MIT Press Site for Evocative Objects
  • Includes a list of the book's essayists, sample chapters, and other information.

British Museum

  • This site uses objects to tell a history of the world. You’ll find 100 objects from the British Museum and hundreds more from museums and people across the UK.
Common Read Experience at Hamilton College
  • Find news and events pertaining to this year's Common Read Experience.
 + / - Related Books in Burke Library

Akhtar, Salman.Objects of Our Desire: Exploring our Intimate Connections with the Things Around Us. New York: Harmony Books, 2005.

Freyer, John D. All My Life for Sale.
New York : Bloomsbury, 2002.

 
Gosling, Sam. Snoop: What Your Stuff Says about You.
New York : Basic Books, 2009.

MacGregor, Neil. A History of the World in 100 Objects. New York: Viking, 2011.

 

Miller, Daniel. Stuff. Cambridge: Polity Press, 2010.

 

Schwartz-Salant, Nathan and Murray Stein, editors. Liminality and Transitional Phenomena. Wilmette, Ill.: Chiron Publications, 1991.

 + / - Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
 + / - Subject Specialist
Picture: Kristin Strohmeyer

Kristin Strohmeyer
Research Librarian
Tel: (315) 859-4481