Hamilton Library Home  |   Search Options  |   Research Aids  |  Services
Browse / Search
Browse the library's subscription databases and select e-resources

more information icon Click for more information.


Academic OneFile
Peer-reviewed, full-text articles from journals and reference sources in the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts and humanities. Coverage: 1980-present. Includes transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs.

Provided by NOVELny.


Academic Search Premier
Index of nearly 8,000 scholarly journals and popular magazines in all areas of study. Includes the full text for more than 4,600 titles. Coverage varies by publication.

AccessScience
Gateway to McGraw-Hill's science and technology reference sources. Includes over 8,500 encyclopedia entries, 110,000 dictionary terms, and 15,000 illustrations documenting all major areas of science and technology. Updated continuously.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Full text of over 3,900 books selected by scholars across the humanities. Coverage: 1880s-present.

ACM Digital Library
Full text of all journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the Association for Computing Machinery. Coverage: 1954-present.

ACS Journals
Full text of over 30 American Chemical Society journals and magazines. Coverage: 1879-present.
African American Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of more than more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. Coverage: 1827-1998.

Agricola
Catalog of the National Agricultural Library with records for publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.

Alternative Press Index and Archive
Index of over 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage: 1969-present.

America's Historical Imprints
Full image reproductions of virtually every book, pamphlet and broadside published in the U.S. over a 170-year period. Items include advertisements, almanacs, bibles, broadsides, catalogs, charters and by-laws, contracts, cookbooks, elegies, eulogies, laws, maps, narratives, novels, operas, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, songs, speeches, textbooks, tracts, travelogues, treaties and more.
  • American Broadsides and Ephemera, Series I, 1770-1876
  • Early American Imprints, Series I, 1639-1800
  • Early American Imprints, Series II, 1801-1819

America's Historical Newspapers
More than 1,800 newspapers from all 50 states. The colonial and early national newspapers collected by the American Antiquarian Society form the core of this collection. Coverage: 1690-1922.
Library subscribes to Early American Newspapers, Series I-VI.


America's Newspapers
Complete electronic editions of more than 2,000 U.S. newspapers and news video clips, most dating back to the early 1990s. Features over 100 New York State news sources including:
  • Albany Times Union, 1986-
  • Syracuse Post-Standard, 1986-
  • Utica Observer-Dispatch, 2002-

America's Obituaries & Death Notices
Comprehensive collection of newspaper obituaries and death notices from around the U.S.

America: History & Life
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on the history and culture of the U.S. and Canada from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

American National Biography
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Biographical portraits of more than 17,400 men and women whose lives shaped the American nation. Updated quarterly.

American Periodicals
Full-image reproductions of more than 1,100 American magazines and journals. Includes popular, general interest, literary and women's magazines. Coverage 1741-1940.

American State Papers
Legislative and executive documents of the 1st through 25th United States Congress. Coverage: 1789-1838.

Annual Reviews
Literature reviews providing overviews of the principal contributions to scholarship for 41 focused disciplines within the biomedical, life, physical, and social sciences.

Anthropology Plus
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Index of articles and essays on anthropology and archaeology, including art history, demography, economics, psychology, and religious studies. Coverage: Late-19th century to present.
AP Images
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Access to over 6 million current and historical news photographs and graphics images, including maps, timelines, logos and graphs. Coverage: 1840s-present.
Archive of Americana
Collections of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, government documents and ephemera printed in America over three centuries.
  • America's Historical Imprints
  • America's Historical Newspapers
  • American State Papers, 1789-1838
  • House and Senate Journals, Series I, 1789-1817
  • Senate Executive Journals, 1789 - 1980
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980
  • U.S. Congressional Serial Set Maps, 1817-1980

ArchiveGrid
Descriptions of the archival collections of thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Search results include the title of the collection, holding institution, brief description and a link to an extended description.

Art Index Retrospective
Index of articles from more than 500 art jounals. Consult Art Source for articles published after 1984. Coverage: 1929-1984.
Art Source
Combines the content of Art Index, Art Abstracts, Art Full Text, Art Index Retrospective, and Art & Architecture Complete to include over 630 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, an image collection, and podcasts from leading museums on artists and individual works of art.

ARTFL
Full text of nearly 3,000 French language texts including literature, non-fiction prose and technical works. Coverage: 13th through the 20th centuries.

ArticleFirst
Tables of contents for more than 13,000 journals. Coverage: 1990-present.
ARTstor
Collection of more than one million high-resolution images and tools for teaching and research. The 200+ collections include contributions from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Subjects include architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects. Coverage: prehistory to present.
Teaching with ARTstor:  Courseware/Blackboard Guide
Instructor Privileges:  To obtain instructor privileges contact your local ARTstor administrator, Lynn Mayo, Burke Library.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts
Journal articles in health services, social work, sociology and psychology.

ATLA Religion Database
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and essay collections in all fields of religion. Areas of focus include the Christian Bible, church history, world religions, theology, and ethics. Coverage: 1949-present.

AtoZ Maps Online
Collection of more than 146,000 proprietary and royalty-free maps. All maps are high resolution starting at 300dpi with some as large as poster-size. Many maps are PowerPoint-ready. Updated monthly.

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of articles, books, chapters, and conference proceedings for Asian studies, including citations to all articles from the 100 most-used journals in the field. Coverage: 1971-present.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Index of more than 12 million biographical sketches appearing in current and retrospective reference works. Updated semi-annually.

BioOne
Full text of articles from more than 90 journals with indexing and abstracts for more than 60 additional journals focused on the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Coverage: 2000-present.

BIOSIS Citation Index
The most comprehensive coverage of the literature in the life sciences. Includes content from journals, reports, reviews, and meetings. Discover high impact articles with cited reference searching on the Web of Knowledge platform. Coverage: 1969-present.

Black Studies Center
Primary and secondary sources documenting the African-American experience, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Features scholarly essays, journal and newspaper articles, images, multimedia content, and an index to fiction, poetry and literary reviews from black periodicals.

British Literary Manuscripts Online: Medieval and Renaissance
565,000 pages of rare manuscripts from the Medieval and Early Modern periods including letters, poems, stories, plays, chronicles, religious writings and commonplace books. These works of 1,000 authors were selected from the collections of the British Library, National Library of Scotland, Victoria and Albert Museum, and the Folger Shakespeare Library. Coverage: 1120-1660.

British Periodicals
Full image reproductions of nearly 500 British magazines and journals. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, music, art, drama, archaeology, architecture, and the social sciences. Coverage: 1681-1920.

Business Insights: Essentials
Full text information on  U.S. and international businesses, industries and products. Includes industry reports and company histories, financial and investment research reports, market research reports, and nearly 4,000 full text periodicals. Coverage: 1980-present.

Provided by NOVELny.


Business Source Premier
Full text articles from nearly 3,600 scholarly publications with indexing and abstracts for nearly 4,400 journals. Includes detailed company profiles for the world's 5,000 largest companies and country economic reports from the EIU and CountryWatch. Coverage: 1965-present.

Cambridge Histories Online

A growing collection of over 290 volumes covering over 15 different academic subjects - history, history of science, language, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, political and social theory, religious studies, theatre and the performing arts.


CAMIO: Catalog of Art Museum Images Online
Images of fine art and decorative art from around the world. All content is rights-cleared for educational use in the classroom or to illustrate papers, web projects and other assignments. Coverage: Prehistory to the present.

Chicago Manual of Style
Guide to researching, writing, and documenting sources in the humanities and social sciences. Print edition is available at Ref Desk Z253 .U69 2010.

Choice Reviews Online
NOTICE [Sept 2013]
Choice has moved to a new platform. If you have saved lists on the old platform you will need to login and email your lists to yourself. The old platform will be maintained for a few months. Old platform address: http://wwwcro2.org/

On the new platform you can save new lists once you have registered. See the FAQ for registration information.

Choice publishes reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education. Each monthly issue contains a bibliographic essay. Coverage: 1988-present (reviews); 2005-present (articles).

Chronicle of Higher Education
Full text of the Chronicle of Higher Education with news and job information for college and university faculty members, administrators, and students. Coverage: 1995-present.

How to read The Chronicle from anywhere, on any device:
  1. Create a free Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address.
  2. iPad - download the iPad app and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. New issues will be delivered automatically to your iPad.
  3. Smart Phone, Computer, Tablet - Using your browser (Safari, Firefox, Chrome, etc.), go to Chronicle.com and log in to your Chronicle account using your @Hamilton.edu email address. To avoid future login prompts check the box that reads, Keep me logged in on this computer.



CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
Full text of working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs on international affairs. Coverage: 1991-present.

Clase and Periódica

Index of Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English language articles in the social sciences, humanities, science and technology. Coverage: 1975-present (Clase);  1978-present (Periódica).


CollegeSource Online
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users. This resource is provided by the Office of the Registrar.
Full cover-to-cover content of over 11,000 catalogs of 2-year, 4-year, graduate and professional schools. Coverage: 1994-present.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Index of more than 400 journals related to the study of communication and associated disciplines, with full text access to more than 200 journals dating as far back as 1915.

Communication Source
Note: Free Trial ends April 8, 2014.
Includes more than 1,000 core journals, and 600 with full text. This database was developed from a merger of Communication and Mass Media Complete™ and Communication Abstracts™ (formerly published by SAGE).

CountryWatch

Up-to-date news and information on each of the recognized countries of the world. Includes the Country Reviews, Country Wire, CountryWatch Data and CountryWatch Map Gallery. Updated daily.


CQ Researcher
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Summary reports on contemporary issues that include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Coverage: 1991-present.
CQ Weekly

A weekly report on Congressional legislative activity, including the status of current bills, committee and floor activity, debates, and roll-call votes. Coverage: 1983-present.


CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
The standard laboratory reference book for chemical and physical data. Coverage: Latest edition only.
Current Contents Connect
Complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world’s leading scholarly journals and books. Coverage: 1998-present.

Data Citation Index
Discover research data available in a growing number of data repositories worldwide. About 80 repositories are currently indexed by the Data Citation Index. Each record also includes a recommended citation for the resource, helping to make data easier to cite. Coverage: 1900-present.

Derwent Innovations Index
Patent information from the patent information from Derwent World Patent Index® and patent citation information from Patents Citation Index. Coverage: 1963-present.

Digital National Security Archive
Declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Documents include presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, independent reports, briefing papers, White House communications, email, confidential letters, and other secret material. Coverage: 1942 to present.

Early English Books Online
Digital reproductions of all items produced by a printing press (such as books, pamphlets, broadsides) in England and its colonies and any item that was printed anywhere in the world in English. Coverage: 475-1700.

EBL - ConnectNY
Academic titles across all disciplines. EBL eBooks can be "checked out" and read online, or be downloaded to an ebook reader or mobile device. Coverage: 2010-present.
More Info: ConnectNY eBook Library is a shared ebook collection. ConnectNY is a consortium of 18 independent academic institutions in New York State. The mission of ConnectNY is to share collections, leverage resources, and enhance services through cooperative initiatives and coordinated activities.
eBook Academic Collection (EBSCOhost)
ebrary Academic Complete
A growing collection of over 100,000 academic eBooks.
More Info:
ECO (Electronic Collections Online)
Full text articles from collection of more than 6,300 titles in a wide range of subject areas, from over 70 publishers of academic and professional journals. Most content is accessed on a pay-per-view basis. Contact a research librarian for assistance. Coverage: 1995-present.

EconLit
Comprehensive index of the world's economic literature from over 300 major economic journals and collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.). Coverage: 1969-present.

Economagic: Economic Time Series
Note: This resource is provided by the Hamilton Economics Department.
The core data sets involve U.S. macroeconomic data, but the bulk of the data is employment data by local area -- state, county, MSA, and many cities and towns.

eHRAF World Cultures
Ethnographic collection featuring over a million pages of indexed information from books, articles, and dissertations on more than 400 different cultural, ethnic, religious, and national groups around the world.
Help: Quick User's Guide - Video Tutorial - Visual Tutorial


Encyclopaedia Britannica
Full text of the Encyclopaedia Britannica, Merriam-Webster's Dictionary and Thesaurus, and a collection of research tools featuring videos, interactive timelines, country statisics and comparisons, a world atlas, and more. Updated daily.

Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
An encyclopedia of the life sciences with particular emphasis on cell and molecular biology and its relevance to medicine. Updated continually.
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
Abstract summaries of the environmental impact statements issued by the federal government. Each record includes a clear description of the project, sections on positive impact and negative consequences, and legal mandates. Coverage: 1985-present.

Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management
Index of journal articles, books, government publications, reports, and conference proceedings related to environmental science. Coverage: 1981-present.

ERIC
Index of journal articles, books, conference papers, technical reports, policy reports, and other materials related to education. Includes the full text for more than 300,000 items. Coverage: 1966-present.

Ethnic NewsWatch
Full text articles from newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Searchable in both English and Spanish. Coverage: 1985-present.

Europa World Plus
Economic, political and geographic background information and statistical data by country, with a comprehensive listing of 1,900 international organizations. Updated daily.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Index of journal articles, reviews and essays about women, sexuality and gender during the Middle Ages. Coverage: 1994-present.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
Indexes hundreds of academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, 1979-1998. Coverage: 1972-present.

Gale Virtual Reference Library
A growing collection of fully searchable e-Reference books covering multiple subject areas.

Gannett Newsstand
85 full-text local and regional U.S. newspapers spanning 30 states. Coverage varies for each newspaper.

Provided by NOVELny.


GenderWatch
Full text of articles that focus on gender roles from historical and current perspectives. Areas of focus include gay and lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) studies; family studies; gender studies, and women's studies. Coverage: 1970-present.

General OneFile
General interest magazines and journals. Includes transcripts and audio from all NPR (National Public Radio) programs.

Provided by NOVELny.

GeoRef
Index of journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses covering the geology of North America from 1785 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Coverage: 1785-present.

GPO Monthly Catalog
A catalog of Congressional reports, hearings, debates and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments. Coverage: 1976-present.

GreenFILE
Index of scholarly journals, government publications and general interest magazines on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and other aspects of human impact to the environment. Coverage: 1974-present.

Grove Art Online
Scholarly encyclopedia covering all aspects of Western and non-Western visual art with more than 45,000 articles, 21,000 biographies, 500,000 citations, and 40,000 image links.
Grove Music Online
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Scholarly encyclopedia for music research with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies.

HarpWeek
Full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly, a publication that played a significant role in shaping and reflecting public opinion from the start of the Civil War through the end of the 19th century. Includes index. Coverage: 1857-1912.

Health Reference Center Academic
Index of articles from a wide range of nursing and allied health journals, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, consumer health information sources, and reference works. Includes full text for more than 75% of citations as well as multimedia content. Coverage: 1980-present.

Provided by NOVELny.


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Full text of articles from over 500 journals focusing on medicine with indexing for over 800 journals. Includes the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which covers 1,300 generic drug patient education sheets with more than 4,700 brand names. Coverage: 1975-present.

Historical Abstracts
Index of journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations on world history (excluding the U.S. and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1954-present.

Historical Black Newspapers
Complete contents and original layout of five important African American newspapers. Search together or by individual title.
  • Baltimore Afro-American, 1893-1988
  • Chicago Defender, 1910-1975
  • Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005
  • New York Amsterdam News, 1922-1993
  • Pittsburgh Courier, 1911-2002

Historical Statistics of the United States
Contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations. Each series is fully documented and placed in historical context by a recognized expert. Coverage: 1600-2000.

House and Senate Journals, Series I

Chronicles matters considered on the floors of the House of Representatives and the Senatve, votes and other actions taken, as well as excerpts from executive department communications and member responses. Coverage: 1789-1817.


Humanities and Social Science Index Retrospective
Index of articles and book reviews from important scholarly journals. Coverage 1907-1984.

IBIS World
Over 700 U.S. Industry Reports, 300+ U.S. Business Environment Profiles, and 80 Global Industry Reports. Each report, compiled by in-house economists and analysts, includes emerging trends, market share data, revenue, competitive landscape, operating conditions, and industry forecasts.

ICPSR
Note: Questions regarding data holdings should be sent to: Lynn Mayo, ICPSR Official Representative at Hamilton College, Burke Library, 315-859-4746.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research data archive of more than 800,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields. Users wishing to download members-only data and some publicly available data are required to establish a MyData account. Over 700+ studies are available for online data analysis (i.e., no downloading required) using Survey Documentation Analysis (SDA).

Help: Data Use Tutorial - ICPSR Help Center
Quantitative Literacy Teaching ToolsOnline Learning Center - Teaching with Data


InfoTrac Newsstand
More than 1,000 major U.S. regional, national and local newspapers as well as leading titles from around the world.

Provided by NOVELny.

IngentaConnect
Full text of scholarly research articles, books, monographs, reports, and statistics from 11,000 publications. Most content is accessed on a pay-per-view basis. Contact a research librarian for assistance. Coverage: 1989-present.

INSPEC
Index of articles from scientific and technical journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations covering physics, electronics, electrical engineering, computers and control, and information technology. Coverage: 1969-present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Articles and book reviews in anthropology, economics, political science and sociology.
International Financial Statistics Online
Note: Saved searches, reports and bulk downloads require a free individual registration.
Statistics on all aspects of international and domestic finance. Data covers exchange rates, international liquidity, international banking, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, and national accounts. Coverage: 1948-present.

Tip: Use Query Builder to select data source (IFS), time range, concepts (variables), and countries/regions.

  1. Click on Data Source in the Query Builder box.
  2. Select International Financial Statistics from the list on the right side of the screen.
  3. Click on Time to change the years and reporting time period.
  4. Click on Concept and expand Economic Sector to select variables.
  5. Click on Country in the box to select countries or regions.
  6. Click on View Data to execute the search.
Help: My Data User Guide - Query Builder User Guide

International Medieval Bibliography
Note: Limited to 3 simultaneous users.
A multidisciplinary database covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300-1500. Coverage: 1967-present.

IOP Journals
Full article text, tables of contents and abstracts of all Institute of Physics electronic journals. Articles appear in the electronic journal weeks or months before the printed issue is available. Coverage varies by journal.
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages & Renaissance
Bibliography of journal articles, essays, reviews, books, dissertations, and other secondary literature about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
  • Iter Bibliography, 400-1700
  • Bibliography of English Women Writers, 1500-1640
  • Iter Italicum

JSTOR
Full text of leading academic journals from the humanities, social sciences, and sciences dating back as far as 1665. Hamilton provides access to ten JSTOR collections with more than 1,200 titles. Journal runs are complete from volume one up to the most recently published issues (past 5 years), which must be accessed elsewhere.
  • Arts & Sciences collections I-IX
  • Life Sciences collection

L'Année Philologique
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Index of scholarly work in fields related to the language, literature, history and culture of ancient Greece and Rome. Coverage 1924-present.
LexisNexis Academic
Full text of over 9,000 news, business, and legal sources. Articles for most newspapers date back to the early 1990s.
More Info:
News - Business - Legal Research - Company Dossier
Help: Podcast Tutorials - Wiki - Shepardizing a Case

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexe of more than 600 periodicals, books, research reports, and proceedings. Subjects include librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management, and the information industry. Coverage: 1960-present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Covers the literature of theoretical and applied linguistics and psycholinguistics.
Literature Criticism Online
Scholarly and popular commentary from books, journals, magazines, broadsheets, pamphlets, diaries, and newspapers. Online access is from 2009-2012. Print volumes are indexed in the Literary Index with selected content available in the Literature Resource Center.

Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism

Vols. 1-110 - shelved at Ref PN610 .C55
Vols. 111-143 - available online

Literature Criticism from 1400 to1800

Vols. 1-162 shelved at Ref PN86 .L53
Vols. 163-206 - available online

Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
Vols. 1-210 - shelved at Ref PN761 .N5
Vols. 211-259 - available online

Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism

Vols. 1-217 - shelved at Ref PN771 .G27
Vols. 218-269 - available online

Literature Resource Center
Extensive collection of full-text scholarly articles, book reviews, biographical essays, and work overviews. Covers authors and literary topics from all genres, time periods, and regions of the world.

Marquis Who's Who
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Biographies of over 1.4 million people of note who have appeared in 24 Marquis Who's Who print titles since 1985, plus historical biographies from Who Was Who in America volumes 1607-1985.
MathSciNet
Reviews of articles, books and other published material that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Also includes data on advanced-level textbooks and expository papers that may not contain new research, but that appear to be of interest to scholars and research mathematicians. Coverage: 1940-present.

MEDLINE
Index to journal articles with information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and more. Coverage: 1950-present.

Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus
10th edition
Met Opera on Demand

More than 450 full-length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s award-winning Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936. All videos contain English subtitles and recent performances include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.

Help: FAQs; Technical Requirements

Met Opera on Demand is provided through the generosity of Hamilton Trustee Kevin W. Kennedy '70.
Military & Government Collection
Index to academic journals, periodicals, and other content with news pertaining to all branches of the military and government. Coverage: Varies by title.

MLA International Bibliography
Index of books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, film, and linguistics. Coverage: 1926-present.

Music and Performing Arts
Music & Performing Arts (formerly Music Online) includes thousands of audio recordings with liner notes, biographical information, and more. Major collections feature American song, classical music, jazz, popular music, and world music.

Music Index
Index of articles, book reviews, record reviews, first performances and obituaries from more than 700 international music periodicals, including classical and popular music. Coverage: 1952-present.

National Newspaper Index
Indexing for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Christian Science Monitor, the Los Angeles Times and the Washington Post. Coverage: 1977-present.

Provided by the New York State Library, NOVELNY connects New Yorkers to 21st century information.

Naxos Music Library
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Recordings from the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos, Ondine and selected titles of other leading independent labels. Naxos provides streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, including classical music, jazz, world, folk and Chinese music.
More Info: NAXOS at Hamilton

NBER Working Papers
Full text of the National Bureau of Economic Research working papers, which are intended to make NBER research results available to other economists in preliminary form to encourage discussion and suggestions for revision before final publication. Coverage: 1994-present.

New York State Newspapers
Full-text of articles from more than 30 New York State newspapers. Missing images and some content. Includes publications from Albany, Buffalo, and New York City, and Syracuse. Coverage: Varies by title.

Provided by NOVELny.
New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout. Coverage: 1851-2009.

Newspaper Source
Cover-to-cover full text for 45 national (U.S.) & international newspapers. Also includes selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers and some full text television and radio news transcripts. Coverage varies by title.
NewspaperARCHIVE.com
Full image reproductions of North American and European newspapers, some dating back to the 18th century. Coverage varies significantly by title.
OAIster
A catalog of more than 19 million digital resources. Includes digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, and datasets.

Opposing Viewpoints
Full text reports to differing points of view on current social issues.

Provided by NOVELny.


Oxford Art Online
Gateway to some of Oxford's major art reference sources. Includes Grove Art Online, Oxford Companion to Western Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED)
Documents the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words. Entries trace the historical evolution of a word using quotations found in sources ranging from classic literature to cookbooks.

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online
Fully searchable bilingual dictionaries and study materials for six languages: Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford Music Online
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Gateway to some of Oxford's major music reference sources with more than 50,000 signed articles and 30,000 biographies. Includes full texts with updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz.
Oxford Reference Online
Note: Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
Collection of more than 200 cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press. Coverage: Latest editions.
PAIS International
Index of articles, books, studies, government documents and reports on public policy issues. Highly recommended for research in public administration, law, politics and government. Coverage: 1915-present.

Papers of Alexander Hamilton
Contains all the personal and public writings by and to Hamilton known to exist, some 12,500 documents.

PapersFirst

Index of papers presented at worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Coverage: 1993-present.


Philosopher's Index
Index of journal articles, books, essays, and book reviews covering scholarly research in all major areas of philosophy. Coverage: 1940-present.

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Citations to all literature on post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health sequelae of traumatic events. Coverage: 1871-present.


Politics in America (CQ)
Authoritative information on the members of Congress. Profiles include:
  • Biographical data, committee assignments, CQ Vote Studies, interest group ratings, and contact information
  • State-by-state and congressional voting demographics
  • Campaign finance statistics and election results
  • Leadership, caucuses, and member statistics

Polling the Nations
Question and answer responses from public opinion polls conducted by the major polling organizations and news media. Includes U.S. and international polls. Responses to the questions are included, but with no demographic breakdowns. Updated monthly. Coverage: 1986-present.

ProceedingsFirst

Citations of publications from worldwide meetings, conferences, expositions, workshops, congresses and symposia. Coverage: 1993-present.


Professional Development Collection
Highly specialized collection of over 500 full text journals designed for professional educators. Includes indexing and abstracts for more than 300 additional journals. Coverage: 1965-present.

Project MUSE
Full text of articles from over 300 high quality, peer reviewed journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies by title.
ProQuest Congressional
Full text of Congressional publications. Includes legislative histories; committee hearings, prints and reports; bill text and tracking; key votes; laws and regulations; financial disclosure reports; and more.

ProQuest Dissertations &Theses
Abstracts of dissertations and theses from around the world. Coverage: 1639-present.

PsycARTICLES

Full text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, Canadian Psychological Association and Hogrefe Publishing Group. Coverage: 1894-present.


PsycINFO
American Psychological Association’s index of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations in behavioral science and mental health. Coverage: 1887-present (journals); 1987-present (books and book chapters).

PubMed
National Library of Medicine index of biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Coverage: 1950-present.

Readers' Guide Retrospective
Index of articles from 240 leading general interest magazines published in the U.S. and Canada. Coverage: 1890-1982.
Regional Business News
Full text of articles from more than 80 regional business publications. Coverage varies by title.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
Index of journal articles, books, and other materials about traditional traditional music, popular music, and classical music. Includes sources related to musicology, ethnomusicology, pedagogy, psychology, anthropology, and sociology. Coverage: 1967-present.

RIPM Retrospective Index to Music Periodicals

Index of articles, reviews, illustrations, music examples, advertisements, and press reviews. Coverage: 1800-1950.


Roper Center for Public Opinion Research and iPOLL
The largest collection of poll data anywhere. Broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, and international affairs. Coverage: 1935-present.
  • iPOLL contains half a million survey questions and answers asked in the U.S. over the last 65 years by more than 150 survey organizations.
  • RoperExpress provides on-demand access to datasets from thousands of studies for download in ASCII or SPSS formats.
  • RoperExplorer is an online data analysis system; no programming skills required; choose dependent and independent variables and quickly produce frequencies and cross-tabulations.
Help: YouTube Videos
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy
Features 2,000 essays by scholars and philosophers on a broad range of subjects that include Anglo-American, ethical and political, cross-cultural, interdisciplinary, continental and contemporary philosophy. Updated regularly.

ScienceDirect
Full text of articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books covering the scientific, technical and medical (STM) literature published in 24 fields of science. Coverage varies by title.

SciFinder
Note: Registration required.
Provides access to chemical information available from CAS (Chemical Abstracts Service). Includes references to published literature, organic and inorganic substances, reactions, properties, patents and access to MEDLINE. Coverage: 1907-present.
More Info:
SciFinder at Hamilton - Registration for First Time Users
Help: Tutorials

Senate Executive Journals, Series I

Records of the early U.S. Senate's closed session deliberations, primarily on treaties and nominations. Coverage: 1789-1866.


Serials Directory
Bibliographic information and current pricing for more than 200,000 journals, magazines, and newspapers published in the U.S. and abroad. Includes infromation on indexing sources for each publication.

Social Services Abstracts

Index to journal articles, book reviews, and dissertations covering current research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1979-present.


Sociological Abstracts
Index of journal articles, book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers covering the international literature in sociology and related disciplines,including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, law, penology, race relations, social psychology, and urban studies. Coverage: 1952-present.

Springer eBook Collection
Collection of eBooks covering architecture and design, computer science,biomedical and life sciences, chemistry, earth and environmental science, economics and business, engineering, mathematics, medicine, physics and astronomy, and psychology. Coverage: 2005-2010.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The standard source for U.S. statistics, published since 1878.

See also:
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Full text of virtually all Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.), and A.D. 600 and the majority of surviving works up the fall of Byzantium in A.D. 1453.
Help: Greek fonts

Times (London) Digital Archive
Reproduces the newspaper's text, images, and graphics in their original layout for the London Times. Coverage: 1785-2006.
Note: Content from the Sunday Times is not included in this database.

U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Reports, documents and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives for the 15th through the 96th Congresses. Includes a maps collection. Coverage: 1817-1980.
More Info: Maps

Wall Street Journal

Full text of articles from the paper's Eastern edition. Does not include images, charts, or other graphics. Coverage: 1984-present.


Water Resources Abstracts

Index of journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. Coverage: 1967-present.


Web of Science
Index of articles from over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanties. In addition to multidisciplinary searches, Web of Science provides tools to track citations to individual articles from their date of publication to the present. Now includes Book Citation Index and Conference Proceedings Citation Index. Coverage: 1984-present.

Women Writers Online

Full text of more than 300 works by women in English or in English translation published before 1850. Coverage: 1526-1850.


Women's Studies International
Index of journal articles, books, proceedings, reports, and other sources related to women's studies and feminist research. Coverage: 1972-present.

WorldCat
Catalog of books, periodicals, videos, and other materials from more than 72,000 libraries worldwide. Most items are available through interlibrary loan and arrive in less than 2 weeks.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Index of 1,700 journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Coverage: 1975-present.

Zoological Record
The most comprehensive index to the zoological and animal science literature. Coverage: 1864-present

Ask a Librarian
Call iconCall us:
315-859-4735
Appointments iconMake an appointment:
request form
Key to Icons

Restricted Resource = Campus Faculty, Staff & Students only
Unrestricted Resource = Free Resource
Help guide = Click for help guide (.pdf or .html)

Some full text available = Some full text
Resource includes images = Images
Resource includes video = Video files
Resource includes audio = Audio files